•  » Graphic Design
  •  » Web Design
  •  » Logos and Branding
  •  » Illustration
  •  » Photography
  •  » Design Tutorials
  •  » Plenty of Off Topic Chat

Register now to remove this ad box

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

-->

Thread: bonjourno

bonjourno

ADS NOT VISIBLE TO MEMBERS
    im eric.city.

i am an artist.

My role is to improve the client's condition.

Many professionals that I deal with develop a particular "philosophy" to validate decision making. I associate this stability with boredom and risk aversion. We live in an extremely dynamic world. What you don't know WILL hurt you.

I began this spectacular journey of self reflection at the ripe, and pubescent age of 15 years. I learned the art of Zamboni driving. The epiphany hit me right away; "look beyond the literal Eric, and you'll see the light." At once, I taught my mum, my high school sweetheart, and my grandfather the art of avoiding a car accident on a snowy day.

The internet was my oyster. The library was my oyster. The world seemed so clear, yet so complex.

I solve problems by re-calibrating my state of mind. Non-heirarchical entry and exit points in a thought process, of a thought process. Deleuze and Guattari call this Rhizomatic thinking. I call it creative problem solving. This is not my "philosophy." This is my evolution.

I studied Architecture and Philosophy at the University of Toronto. The most vital lesson i took from this experience was of rivalry. I was enthralled by the architectural "fluff." I would debate an engineer's ear off with any chance I got, but I came to a realization. All of that "left brain / right brain" hocus-pocus is irrelevant if you can identify with both the technical and the artistic. I'd strive to break the conditioning.

Ill quickly add that I traveled the world after art school with my macbook and my creativity for 7 long and exciting years. This is where true self realization is borne out of. I lived, I loved, I learned.