•  » Graphic Design
  •  » Web Design
  •  » Logos and Branding
  •  » Illustration
  •  » Photography
  •  » Design Tutorials
  •  » Plenty of Off Topic Chat

Register now to remove this ad box

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!

-->
Page 1 of 3 123 Last

Hybrid View

Open-source CMS suggestions?

Hey everyone,
    Primarily, I'm a print designer, but I'm comfortable with basic xhtml, css, and a little php. I'm trying to find a content management system that is easy to set-up and fully customize. What I want is a nice backbone that can help me manage my portfolio entries. Here's an outline:

Home
    About
    Work
    Ads
    Company1
    3-4 Thumbnails + Description
    Higher resolution detail shots
    Company2
    Packaging
    Stationary
    Layout
    I'm looking to manage the content so that I can change the design using css+xhtml+images without redesigning the whole site. I've also seen agencies tagging their entires, so that they show up in more than one category. For example, a complete package design would show up under the logos as well as packaging categories. Changing or adding categories would be a breeze using this method.

I've been recommended joomla, but does anyone know of a CMS made specifically for portfolios?

Pardon me if this has been posted before, but I tried searching for this with no avail. I've been trying to build my online portfolio for quite some time, and after creating a functional gallery script in PHP, I'm starting to realize that it would take way too much time for me to do this entirely on my own.

Thanks,
    Dre

PS
    I'm aware of sites such as flickr, coroflot, behance, deviantart, etc. I'm looking to build a personal portfolio. I've had my own domain for the longest time, with just a splash page. It's time I got this done.

Blog Entries

My Social Networking

Follow Toon On Twitter Add Toon on Facebook Add Toon on Google+
    Add Toon on Linkedin Follow Toon on Flickr Visit Toon's Youtube Channel